We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A lot of Questions

NolaGirl1624
Level Contributor
48 posts
Save Topic
A lot of Questions

Ok so i plan to come to NH/VT/ME in mid january...here's my questions?? i was contemplating flying into portland and driving to jackson to stay and ski. 1) how long is the drive? 2) I'm from the south, am I going to kill someone trying to drive in snow/sleet/ice that time of year? 3) are there any nice places under $200 a night to stay really close to the slopes? i would like to be able to wake up and walk to ski...but wake up in a nice hotel. ALSO should i think about any other cities? Its my first time skiing but i'd really like to go to a resort type place. I would be willing to fly into burlington and go to stowe but all the hotels i found were $400 a night. are there any other nice resort towns in NH or VT close to the airports or in ME?? Thanks for any help you can give

Antrim, New...
Level Contributor
2,042 posts
20 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: A lot of Questions

Hi NolaGirl. I am heading down that way in October. Can't wait. I'll be posting my questions, soon.

I don't know the ins and outs of hotels, etc. But, as for driving, snow/sleet/ice are only a problem when it is actually coming down. Most of the time it isn't, and the roads are clean and clear. So driving is not a problem. Be aware of the weather. I am a bit of a weather geek, and like WMUR TV, the ABC affiliate in NH. They do the best weather reporting for the state, both on TV and on line. NH is a small state, but weather patterns can be very different across different parts of the state.