We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

LBI - first time visit! Need Some advice

Old Bridge, NJ
Level Contributor
3 posts
21 reviews
Save Topic
LBI - first time visit! Need Some advice

Hi! I am a New Jersey resident. My husband and I decided to spend our summer vacation budget in NJ this year to help move everyone forward in the rebuilding process. At first we were thinking wildwood, but couldn't find any hotels there that really rose to the top. So, decided to try looking on LBI. We are thinking about either the Spray Beach Inn or the Sea Spray. We would like to be able to walk to the beach and also walk to restaurants etc. Other than that the only other requirement is for the place to be CLEAN. We totally understand what it means to stay in a motel and are ok with that as long as it's clean. We do have two kids who love pools/water parks and amusement rides so proximity to any of that is also good! Any and all LBI travel advice is welcome... Thank you so much!

CT
Level Contributor
1,419 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: LBI - first time visit! Need Some advice

Although both the Spray Beach Inn and The Sea Spray are good for beach access, one is in Spray Beach and the other in Holgate. Holgate was hit very hard by superstorm Sandy, and many homes are still devasted. There are also not restaurants in walking distance. Spray Beach is just north of Beach Haven, and does have a few more options for dining, I would recommend staying in Beach Haven itself. That would put you in walking (or biking) distance to Thundering Surf water park, Fantasy Island amusements, plenty of shopping, mini golf and the Surflight Theater for professional theater.