We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Possibly moving to Wilmington -- best itinerary

Which Wilmington hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
New England
Level Contributor
30 posts
Save Topic
Possibly moving to Wilmington -- best itinerary

My husband and I are considering moving to the Wilmington area, and we may take a few days soon to check it out. What would be a good way and the best itinerary to get to know the city and surrounding communities in a three day time frame? I am an elementary teacher, and I would like to find a good district/school within a 30 minute drive from where we settle. My husband is in IT.

Where should we start? Thanks!

Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
290 posts
107 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Possibly moving to Wilmington -- best itinerary

We retired s. of Wilmington 3 yrs. ago so I don't know which school districts are considered good. A growing area very near Wilmington is northern Brunswick County. The towns would be Leland (largest town in Brunswick County, I think) and Belville. There is growing retail and restaurants in that area along Hwy. 17 and it's just about 10 minutes over the Cape Fear Bridge to Wilmington in New Hanover County. Of course Wilmington has a much larger population and range of housing.

If you want to see the main commercial areas of Wilmington, drive around on Oleander, College Road, Eastwood, Military Cutoff. You'll see most of the retail areas and restaurants. UNCW in on College Road, obviously. The bulk of medical offices are on or close to 16th/17th Street where the large New Hanover Hospital is located.

Historic downtown is pleasant in the daytime along the riverfront. If you go down 3rd to Market you'll find downtown and the riverwalk.