We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

what has bit or stung me

Which Akumal hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Manchester, United...
Level Contributor
1,485 posts
86 reviews
Save Topic
what has bit or stung me

i have been bitten or stung about a week ago while in mexico and have got a large dark red patch about 3 inches wide and 3 inches in length at the top of my leg it has still not gone, does anybody know what has caused this and should i see a doctor?

Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
9,998 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: what has bit or stung me

If you've had this for a week, why wouldnt you go to the doctor.

I have no medical knowledge, but it might be a jellyfish sting:

Symptoms include an intense, stinging pain, itching, rash, and raised welts.

Manchester, United...
Level Contributor
1,485 posts
86 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: what has bit or stung me

we only got back 2 days ago, I have had no itchin or pain with it! my son has also got the same marks on his hands, there was some sort of yellow fly thing in our room on the day we got it

Puerto Morelos, MX
Destination Expert
for Puerto Morelos
Level Contributor
3,859 posts
32 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: what has bit or stung me

It could have been a Tabano fly. Some people have quite severe and varied reactions to their bite. But they typically clear up in 3-4 days. A spider bite is also a possibility.

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
996 posts
1 review
Save Reply
4. Re: what has bit or stung me

Ann I'd say it was the yellow fly type thing. we were warned about them when we arrived. I got stung on the foot by one on our 2nd/3rd day and I still have the mark. Dont know what they are but they sit on you and suck your blood until you swat them away.