We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

jellyfish

Which Akumal hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Falkirk, United...
Level Contributor
170 posts
Save Topic
jellyfish

lots of coverage on tv about jellyfish attacks recently,especially Australia and the Med,does the riviera maya have problems with them?

Augusta
Level Contributor
448 posts
72 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: jellyfish

I am not an expert, but I have never seen any. 3 trips to the area, a few more to the general area.

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7,706 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: jellyfish

I only go in the winter months and have only seen one small one ever.

Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
233 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: jellyfish

I've been to the area 7 times and only once off Cozumel I got stung. I have seen some very small ones closer to tulum but not a problem I worry about.

Lethbridge Alberta
Level Contributor
569 posts
216 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: jellyfish

We have gone summer and winter . I have not seen a jelly fish at all

I read somewhere , there is a small migration in the early spring time.

Falkirk, United...
Level Contributor
170 posts
Save Reply
5. Re: jellyfish

good to hear....

but the blighters are getting worse all over

nydailynews.com/ny_local/2008/07/21/2008-07-…

Saginaw, Texas
Level Contributor
2,544 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
6. Re: jellyfish

"Blighter". Had to google that one. I will start using that term in Texas and see where it gets me (LOL).

Gracias for expanding my vocabulary!

Falkirk, United...
Level Contributor
170 posts
Save Reply
7. Re: jellyfish

"a despicable or irritating person or thing"

not normally a word a Scotsman would use but it sums up jellyfish i guess.

now where did i put that Corona..........

MN
Level Contributor
610 posts
49 reviews