We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smith Rock SP Camping?

Which Bend hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
New York City, New...
Level Contributor
50 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Smith Rock SP Camping?

Hi!

I am going to be driving through the area for a partial day/night, and wanted to know about camping in the Bend area. Someone suggested Smith Rock SP and said they have walk-in tent sites...is this true? What advice would you have for getting one of those sites? I've never done walk-in camping before. I'll be arriving by car from the north (coming from Mt. Hood).

Also, curious as to thoughts about hiking in that park. I looked on a few sites with trail details, one of them said I needed a state park permit? Does that just mean I'll pay a fee upon entry? (I haven't been to many state parks so far in life.)

Thanks!

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
50 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: Smith Rock SP Camping?

FORGOT to mention I'm going to be there mid-September, around the 15th or 16th. Thanks!

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2,223 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Smith Rock SP Camping?

if its during the week it might be ok. its popular with the rock climbers on the weekend. There may or may not be a camp host(Im guessing not). if not there will be a pay station- which will probably take cash or a check take the ticket and put it in on your dashboard... its easy. It is a great hiking destinatiion.

If for some reason camping is not available at Smith, Cove Palisades State Park is sort of near by and should have plenty of space... there are closer BLM campgrounds to Smith Rock, but they do not offer any amenities (other than a pit toilet) and no water so it is hard to recommend using those if you're not prepared.

USA
Level Contributor
717 posts
3 reviews