We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beginning to Plan Summer 2010 trip

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Destination Expert
for Santa Fe, Mesa Verde National Park, Boulder, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21,224 posts
53 reviews
Save Topic
Beginning to Plan Summer 2010 trip

I have been reading and studying the forums and other websites. Here' s my tentative plan. Our time is flexible between June 27 and August 15 or so (I'm a teacher). Looking for lodging with a suite as we have a 15 year old with us. Free breakfast always welcome!! Let me know how this plan looks. I've been to Oregon coast eon's ago but dh and son have not. DH is a foodie, I'm not and the teen is diabetic.

Day 1 Friday - arrive mid day. To downtown Portland hotel. Looking at Hotel Monaco, Embassy Suites, Courtyard, Nines. Visit the immediate area and head to dinner. We want seafood...any suggestions? We live in the desert so anything will be better than what we have here. lol!

Day 2 Sat - Visit the downtown area and OMSI. Maybe Old Town Pizza, tour of the tunnels etc. Any other recommendations for Italian for dinner?

Day 3 Sun - Gardens...Rose, Japanese, Forest Park. Brewpub type food for dinner.

Day 4 Mon - Rent car and if the weather is ok, head to Mt St Helens and then to Astoria for the night. Ever since the movie Kindergarten Cop I have wanted to visit here, loL!

Day 5 Tue - Coast visit. Not sure yet on where we want to stay. Cannon Beach or elsewhere. Oswald West SP and Tillamook Tour for sure.

Day 6 Wed - More coast. To Newport and the Aquarium, the only thing the teen wants to do.

Day 7 Thu - Wine country. Umpqua, Rogue, Willamette Valley. Have not done much planning yet. Need lodging that will be teen friendly.

Day 8 Fri - Wine country again. A visit to Corvallis, Eugene or Salem to check those towns out.