We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portland to Seattle concert trip

Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
634 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Portland to Seattle concert trip

So, I've always wanted to visit Portland and Seattle, and it just so happens my favorite band is playing both in August. Now that I'm finished with school, it seems like the perfect time to make it happen!

So my plan is to spend two nights in Portland, then take the Amtrak train to Seattle and spend a couple nights there. As a recent college grad, I am definitely on a budget. Can anyone recommend a good budget hotel? The show is at the Wonder Ballroom in NE Portland (still getting all the neighborhood lingo down), if that helps suggestions. I'm confident using public transportation, but since it's just two days, I don't want to spend TOO much time on buses and whatnot. Also, I'll have to make it to Union Station fairly early in the morning.

I'm 23 years old and am mostly interested in good food, beer, seeing some scenery and just exploring the city. Thanks for any tips!

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
290 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Portland to Seattle concert trip

Check out the White Eagle Saloon, it is within walking distance of the Ballroom. If you don't mind sharing a room it is about $50 a night. mcmenamins.com/683-white-eagle-hotel-room-ra…

Scott

www.portlandtraveltips.com

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
1,622 posts
85 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Portland to Seattle concert trip

There's also this place on AirBNB for $60/night, a few blocks away from the Wonder: https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/617737