We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trip Report - April 15-18

Coral Springs FL
Level Contributor
741 posts
45 reviews
Save Topic
Trip Report - April 15-18

Good Morning Everyone!!! We returned from our Romantic Getaway to Myrtle Beach yesterday, rested and happy!

This is my first time to Myrtle Beach, and we (me and my fiance - late 40s early 50s couple) went because of the deals on airfare, car rental and hotel that we found online. Once I had done a little research (needing a car and what to see) and all the reservations were made, we decided to do a few things, and we had an awesome time! Thanks for the hospitality!

Best Decisions:

Brookgreen Gardens ($12 each for a 6 day pass) and the Trekker Tour ($7. each). This was so peaceful and beautiful, and the bird of prey section was a real surprise. Loved learning about South Carolina history and seeing all of the beautiful trees, flowers, and sculpture.

Bubba's Love Shak - The food was really great. Relaxed and affordable. Great Service. Medium cost. We went about 4pm for a late lunch/early dinner.

Rental Car - We got a great deal on Priceline, and ended up with a Hyundai (sp?) Accent. It was brand new, and my fiance who is 6'3" had no trouble. The car got excellent mileage (we only used 4 gallons even though we went everywhere everyday without thinking about it) and had a HUGE trunk and seating area.

Biggest Disappointment - We couldn't find any local home-spun restaurants with great home cooked southern breakfast. Everything was really cookie-cutter, and though we spoke to locals, no one had any suggestions. Maybe they were afraid to tell us?

Other Items: