We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Flights to Myrtle Beach

Level Contributor
17 posts
18 reviews
Save Topic
Flights to Myrtle Beach

Hi there,

I will be travelling to Myrtle Beach towards the end of March 2014. I will be flying out of Edmonton, Alberta Canada. I've been watching flights for about 3 weeks and when I first started I could find a return flight for about $550 an now the cheapest I can find is around $800. Should I just book the $800 and assume that prices are only going up from here? Or will the prices come down once the plane is at capacity and they open up a new flight? I don't travel to the US very often so I have no experience with how the pricing works. I am confident when to book a trip to Mexico but this is different for me and I can't believe how much the price went up in a couple of weeks.

I would very much appreciate any advice. Thanks so much and happy travelling to all:)

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
687 posts
19 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Flights to Myrtle Beach

Unfortunately, there is no certainty in predicting airfares. They also don't work on the premise that if they fill a flight they just open another one. Based on the info you haven given, I would probably wait awhile and hope they come back down. Since your still 4 months away from flight time there is still plenty of time. I'm also sure others will say book it now and have the certainty.

Bethpage NY
Destination Expert
for Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
3,393 posts
253 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Flights to Myrtle Beach

I would also wait and see if they offer a special as time gets closer.

Level Contributor
17 posts
18 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Flights to Myrtle Beach

I think I will wait a bit more and see what happens. Like you both said, there is never any certainty until you are booked:)

Toronto