We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bird photography

Which Pawleys Island hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Raleigh, North...
Level Contributor
591 posts
67 reviews
Save Topic
Bird photography

Hi all.

Will be down in a couple weeks and would like to try my hand at photographing some birds. I know that Huntington is supposed to be an exceptional location; can anyone tell me if this is a good time to go there? Is there another place that might offer better opportunities?

I'm still a VERY novice photographer, and I don't have big lenses or any fancy stuff to work with, so I need to be able to get relatively close.

Pawleys Island SC
Destination Expert
for Pawleys Island, Murrells Inlet
Level Contributor
1,404 posts
138 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Bird photography

There's good reason why Huntington is the favorite spot around here, the photography can be exceptional. Getting close to the birds is always tricky and usually the luck of the draw - either they're close or they ain't. :) As far as time, I prefer morning lighting if possible and usually try to be there by about an hour after sunrise, to let the sun get near the treetops. Sometimes, low tide can be an excellent time, drawing birds to the tidal pools and oyster beds on the saltwater side of the causeway. That's probably your best chance to catch them close.

The causeway is the most popular spot, but there's also a trail behind the main office that takes you to a pier in the back of the freshwater pond. There's also a trail from the north parking lot, leading to a pond overlook platform. Finally, the pier behind the Education Center is always a good bet. Good luck!

Raleigh, North...
Level Contributor
591 posts
67 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Bird photography

Thanks, PD. Knew I could count on you for help.