We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Researching Seabrook

Atlanta
Level Contributor
639 posts
Save Topic
Researching Seabrook

I am just beginning to research Seabrook Island for a possible vacation. I am confused about the vacation rental properties. I can't seem to find any beachfront properties, those that on right on the ocean.

Are dogs allowed on the beach?

Are all of the properties in a "planned community?" How big is the island?

Thanks. Any comments are appreciated. If it helps, I am used to St. George Island in Florida. It is a long, skinny island with a gated community at one end, a state park at the other, and homes and condos in between. In searching for rentals there the filters are beachfront, beach view, beach access, etc.

Charleston, South...
Level Contributor
2,542 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Researching Seabrook

This map at DiscoverSeabrook.com should help you.

www.discoverseabrook.com/interactive-map/

Fayetteville...
Destination Expert
for Seabrook Island
Level Contributor
1,086 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Researching Seabrook

There is a reason you will not find many Seabrook Island rentals right on the ocean. When Seabrook was being developed preserving "nature", including the ocean-front area, was of top concern.

Specifics about Seabrook: The Town of Seabrook Island includes Bohicket Marina and everything from Freshfields Village to the security gate of Seabrook. Behind the gate of Seabrook is a planned community of roughly 2,700 properties. Of those properties, ~25-30% of the owners are considered full-time residents (they live on island more than 180 days/year).

The beaches of Seabrook are "private." Owners and their guests have full access. Dogs on leashes are welcome on the beach. There is an off-leash area located at the tip of North Beach.