We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Upscale dining in Laredo

minnesota
Level Contributor
15 posts
22 reviews
Save Topic
Upscale dining in Laredo

where do you suggest...excellent service, good menu and great food.

Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
718 posts
50 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Upscale dining in Laredo

As a former resident, I'd have to say San Antonio...

Seriously, if you're determined to go visit Dante's 7th circle (the one for the violent), the best place on the US side is probably Hamilton Cafe and Bar downtown in the old Hamilton Hotel. The Tack Room at La Posada can be good, but can also be average. Favorato's is throroughly forgettable, as is Pelican's Wharf. Both are just a step up from the chain dreck. Tono's has rotten service, though the interior is nice. Koto sushi bar is suposed to be good. Mariscos Pescador isn't fancy, but their food is very good, and a revelation to those not familiar with fish-mex. I'd have to say that's where to go, but I'm assuming that MN won't have anything similar.

Best meal in town is probably breakfast. Try Paulita's, especially their green salsa. Fabulous home-made tortillas. Same with Taqueria Tlaquepaque. Danny;s is the local diner-type b'fast place. Good chilaquiles. Several locations. Tio Hut had good mexican standards for cheap.

If you go across, El Rincon de Viejo has wonderful guacamole and gorditas, though it can be hard to find. Get a cab: don't walk or drive. Victoria 3020 is just across the bridge, and has great gardens and interesting 'nuevo-mex' food. Skip the famous El Rancho-it's far into the city, and the food never impressed me on several visits.

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
1,548 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Upscale dining in Laredo