We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riu Palace Maspalomas area

Which Playa del Ingles hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Durham, United...
Level Contributor
5 posts
6 reviews
Save Topic
Riu Palace Maspalomas area

I have just booked a cheap last minute deal to this hotel for myself and my 15 year old daughter. Very nervous as this is my first time as a lone (female) parent traveller. Having read some of the reviews I realise that this is probably not the best hotel for us as there do not seem to be many families who stay here. However, we wanted somewhere quiet and pretty to just chill out without loads of screaming kids. If we decide to venture out of the hotel in the evening, where are the best safe places to visit nearby and is there anything within walking distance.

england
Level Contributor
234 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Riu Palace Maspalomas area

This hotel is high quality and will look after you very well. There is no daytime entertainment programme but if you just want to chill out it should be fine. There is a promenade alongside ok for walking along in the daytime, but not really in the evening. The nearest commercial centre to walk to for shops is the Cita about 10 mins, but its a bit run down and half empty. The next nearest is the Yumbo about 25 mins which is livelier and fun and as far as I know quite safe to walk to along the well lit main road. There is a small supermarket just outside the hotel for supplies. You would probably be better off in the evening (once at least) getting a taxi to nearby Maspalomas/Meloneras - ask for the Faro, will only cost a few euros. Much newer development with plenty of upmarket shops and restaurants/bars and a nice busy well lit prom.

Manchester, United...
5 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Riu Palace Maspalomas area