We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brian Head in October

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
755 posts
24 reviews
Save Topic
Brian Head in October

We are planning to visit Brian Head in the second half of October. We would like to make visits to Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon. Will it still be allright to drive around or will there be too much snow?

ontario ny
Level Contributor
55 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Brian Head in October

I'm not an expert on Brian Head but we visited there 3 weeks ago and they had 4-8 feet on the ground and snowmobiling to cedar breaks was great.

The company we snowmobiled with is called brian head adventures.

www.brian-head-adventures.com

I don't know what you want to do or see in Brian Head but the drive is supposed to be nice through Cedar Breaks National Monument ( CBNM) and down route 148. I would call (or send an e-mail) these guys and mention going for a ATV ride with them just to get a conversation going and ask about the snow and other recomendations for that area . You can also look at National Park Service (NPS) web site and get info there.

From looking at historical snow depths from the snotel website the snow depth is minimal at that time of year.

www.wcc.nrcs.usda.gov/snotel/Utah/utah.html

The snotel site is run by the government to track snow pack and or water available during spring and summer melt. If you get to this site for utah snotel go to lower left hand corner and click on the Webster flat (853), Midway valley (626) or castle valley (390) small blue circle ( these are around brian head ) and you can see current snow depth and historical snow depth for the last few years.

Have Fun,

Fisherray

Edited: 17 April 2010, 20:36
Las Vegas, Nevada
Destination Expert
for Anaheim, St. George
Level Contributor
27,915 posts