We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

December Skiiing (Week 2) - Snow Conditions

Rochester Hills...
Level Contributor
141 posts
38 reviews
Save Topic
December Skiiing (Week 2) - Snow Conditions

I have time off in the second week in December, and am thinking of some early Utah skiing which I have never done before (usually in Feb or March).

What are snow conditions and weather usually like? Is it too much of a risk to go ahead and book a flight and hotel for 3-4 days?

Any feedback or suggestions ?

Mentioned in this post
Utah
Utah
United States
salt lake city
Destination Expert
for Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
1,288 posts
91 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: December Skiiing (Week 2) - Snow Conditions

It would be too risky in my mind. Snow depths are usually not very deep but the resorts all make snow on most of their lower lifts. IF you are a beginner or intermediate skiier that might be fine for you. Since that is not a busy time of year here- you probably would not have trouble finding a room or flight if you wait until Thanksgiving to see what the weather is doing here. That would still give you a few weeks to get decent flight prices. Most hotels will let you cancel in a certain amount of time without penalties. You could always secure the room. Southwest has one way cheap fares from Detroit. Check out what dates they are already filling up and you will know if you can put it off or not and when to firm something up.

Rochester Hills...
Level Contributor
141 posts
38 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: December Skiiing (Week 2) - Snow Conditions

Thank you Saphirebluez.

Park City, UT
Level Contributor
355 posts
26 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: December Skiiing (Week 2) - Snow Conditions