We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Any tips for driving in Mallorca?

Which Cala Millor hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Suffolk
Level Contributor
11 posts
5 reviews
Save Topic
Any tips for driving in Mallorca?

Hi. Am heading to Mallorca for the first time in April. I am quite comfortable driving "on the wrong side of the road" but this is my first time in Spain and wondered if there are any little things that I should be aware of - like giving way to the right, or at traffic lights?

Thank you

Hampshire England
Level Contributor
5,614 posts
93 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Any tips for driving in Mallorca?

If your avatar pic is of yourself I would suggest a booster seat ;-)

Other than that, no, nothing really. Just watch out for speed limits the same as the UK.

wirral
Level Contributor
18,927 posts
108 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Any tips for driving in Mallorca?

If you are driving a LH drive car everything becomes second nature very quickly.For me the biggest worry is joining motorways eg following the loop from the airport onto the main drag into Palma especially as this is at the start of your holiday..Get up to ambient speed by accelerating strongly in the right hand filter lane before indicating left to join the main traffic flow and before you run out of road in the joining lane.Before you drive off check all your mirrors especially driving mirror.Check how to switch on lights and how to activate screenwash and wipers before you move off. Eg my car at home (German) has hand controls on the opposite side to my wife's (Korean).

Suffolk
Level Contributor
11 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Any tips for driving in Mallorca?

Thank you - all noted

London
Level Contributor
515 posts
116 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Any tips for driving in Mallorca?