We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bugs

Macklin, SK
Level Contributor
20 posts
Save Topic
Bugs

Does anyone know if the mosquitoes are bad year round in Cayo Coco? I'll bring bug spray regardless... I'm just curious what to expect.

Thanks!!

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
302 posts
59 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Bugs

Hi Sandra D,

I thought I'd bump your post up because I'd like to know too. I did a search and found a thread you might want to see:

tripadvisor.ca/ShowTopic-g580450-i10244-k616…

In short, they say the bugs are a problem year round but more so in the summer. I went to Cayo Santa Maria last May and got bitten (I'm assuming Cayo Coco is similar). It was always around dusk. They also sprayed around that time. I'm not a bug expert but I remember a documentary that said certain mosquito species only bit at certain times. My guess is that they spray when the mosquitos are biting.

I think, like you, I'll bring bug spray and after bite. This will be my first trip to Cayo Coco. Can anyone else add any insight into this?

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Bugs

went last jan to tryp never got bit once,going back same time 23rd but you never know,just take plenty of spray and take vitamin b once a day a fortnight before you go

Bolton, United...
Level Contributor
6,287 posts
50 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Bugs

A lot of the bites are caused with sand fleas. Best to change your towel at the end of the day so you have a clean towel to take to your room. Also use plenty bug spray as others have said, I also use plug ins for the room.

toronto
Level Contributor
60 posts
89 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Bugs