We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

I'm a former VB resident & recall mini golf on *real* grass

Which Virginia Beach hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 posts
91 reviews
Save Topic
I'm a former VB resident & recall mini golf on *real* grass

I lived in VB on Baltic Ave. ~ 1997-1999. I distinctly recall playing miniature golf on a course with *real* grass for the greens. It seems like it was lighted, so you could play after dark. It wasn't far from where we lived. Did I dream this up, or did such a place exist? I can't find anything about it on the Internet and the reason I obsess over it is that it was among the most fun I had during those years. A really unique, different mini golf experience. Thanks!

Virginia
Destination Expert
for Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
6,372 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: I'm a former VB resident & recall mini golf on *real* grass

Seems like most mini golf courses all over have changed to astro turf. NC's Outer Banks has a few with real grass. You may have gone to Jungle Golf on Pacific and 22nd. They may have had real grass then, don't know.

Jungle Golf's been around since the 70s. I understand it's open 24 hours, but haven't had the opportuinity to check it out in the wee hours:)

Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 posts
91 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: I'm a former VB resident & recall mini golf on *real* grass

Thank you so much! I bet you are right. It really is fun to play on real grass! One of the many things I miss about the Hampton Roads area. Thanks for writing!

Virginia
12 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: I'm a former VB resident & recall mini golf on *real* grass