We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Williamsburg Summer 2009

Rochester, NY
3 posts
Save Topic
Williamsburg Summer 2009

Does anyone have any tips for planning a Williamsburg trip for summer 2009? I'm thinking of a week in August. Are there times I should keep an eye out for discounts to be released?

San Diego...
Level Contributor
2,225 posts
36 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Williamsburg Summer 2009

I'm not an expert on the area, but I have a few tips:

Go to the Colonial Williamsburg website www.history.org

It is my understanding that evening dining at the various historic taverns should be booked in advance. Also, if you wish to stay in the historical accomodations, these should also be booked in advance. See the above website for information.

If you wish to save money on acomodations, book at any area motel (such as Hampton Inn or many others) regardless of exact location. Then drive to the free parking lot at the Visitors Center of Colonial Williamsburg and take the free (with CW ticket) bus transportation to the historic area.

Fort Worth
Level Contributor
11,544 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Williamsburg Summer 2009

Hi Mouse Skywalker:

We stayed at an official Williamsburg hotel, this past August ('08). Our tickets were free, with a 4 night stay. Nice savings.

This offer became available, around mid April.

A word of caution; Colonial Williamsburg employees told me to never book a CW package; i.e. spa, golf, etc. through CW. They informed us that the package price is higher, than booking/paying for activities, as used. Odd but true.

You should book tavern meals and evening programs, as soon as they are taking reservations. August was not very crowded, but the great programs were always sold out.

Have a great trip!

Central Maine
Destination Expert
for Maine
Level Contributor
6,882 posts