We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shellfishing in Anacortes/San Juan Islands Area

Phoenix, Arizona
3 posts
Save Topic
Shellfishing in Anacortes/San Juan Islands Area

Hello!

I've heard that it's possible to pick oysters off the beach/rocks along the area around Anacortes and the San Juan Islands. I've visited the following site, so I'm aware of this information:

…wa.gov/fishing/shellfish/beaches/MapArea/03/

I was hoping someone had a suggestion about where the best place is to find Oysters to eat raw. Is this a low tide activity that comes along with tide-pooling? I'm planning to go tide-pooling at Rosario Beach, so maybe I'll find some. Is it easy to find them, or a rare occurrence?

I'm from the desert (Phoenix) so I'm new to this, and I'm having trouble finding specifics. I'd love to hear the inside scoop!

Thanks in advance!

Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
265 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Shellfishing in Anacortes/San Juan Islands Area

Aloha!

I have read that the Garrison Bay area is an excellent spot: wdfw.wa.gov/fishing/shellfish/beaches/220422/

Good luck!

\nnn/

Phoenix, Arizona
3 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Shellfishing in Anacortes/San Juan Islands Area

Thanks so much! I'll check it out.

Friday Harbor...
Destination Expert
for San Juan Islands
Level Contributor
1,026 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Shellfishing in Anacortes/San Juan Islands Area