We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ski bum in Jackson...thoughts??

Neptune City, New...
Level Contributor
21 posts
Save Topic
Ski bum in Jackson...thoughts??

I'm a recent college graduate. I love to ski. The idea of being a ski bum for a winter intrigues me. Now seems like a good opportunity, so why not? If I can convince a friend or two to come along, that'd be great, but I wouldn't mind going solo. I'm from the east coast and have skiied out west a number of times, but never Jackson Hole. I'm mulling over some issues and I'd love to hear others' thoughts.

1) What type of job should I get? Ideally I'm thinking something seasonal that pays enough for me to eat, sleep somewhere, and ski. Should I work on the mountain/resort? Maybe that comes with housing/ski pass. Or maybe find a night shift job (i.e. bartend) to leave daytime open for skiing?

2) Where do I want to live? Jackson vs Teton Village? I will have a car.

Any general thoughts on living and working in Jackson, skiing. ski bumming are welcome!

Spery, Iowa
Level Contributor
7,255 posts
135 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Ski bum in Jackson...thoughts??

My thoughts in General: Do it while you can IF your parents are not supporting you and you can pay all your bills . Our daughter worked in Yellowstone 3 summers and experiences like that are lifetime memories. Good Luck! Oh, and Congratulations on your College Graduation!

Driggs, Idaho
Destination Expert
for Grand Teton National Park
Level Contributor
3,400 posts
72 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Ski bum in Jackson...thoughts??

Hello