We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trip report

Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 posts
26 reviews
Save Topic
Trip report

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here but I wanted to say thanks for all the good advice I got from browsing here before my trip. And on that note I figured I would write a brief trip report since I enjoyed reading other report before I left.

This was my first trip to Hawaii and my boyfriend's first, also. We were only able to get away from our kids for a week for we traveled Friday (8/15) to Thursday (8/21). I am so happy we chose Kauai and it was an awesome trip. We stayed 2 nights in Princeville at Sealodge (C2 by Hestara) and 3 nights in Kapaa at Islander on the beach (#351 by Kreller's). And our last night over the Pacific, courtesy of US Air. It would have been nice to have stayed longer but honestly I am still so glad we went even for a shorter time.

Day 1: Started off a little rough as US Air cancelled our flight 90min before take off. Cancelled, not delayed. They said maintenance so I guess they found something wrong with the plane. Luckily we were shuffled and could still get there the same day but got in at 8pm instead of 2pm as originally scheduled. Which is 2am East coast time. We got our Enterprise rental car (via Costco) quickly and stopped at Safeway in Kapaa on our way to Princeville. The whole drive was in the dark and we were wondering what gorgeous scenery we were missing. We arrived at our SeaLodge condo and went right to bed.