We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

To Hotwire or not?

UK
1 post
2 reviews
Save Topic
To Hotwire or not?

So I am coming to Kauai for a family event, and am really looking forward to it, until I started looking at the price of condo's and hotel rooms. Eeeekkkk.

The family event I am attending in April is in Poipu, yet, all the rates listed for half decent looking condo's are $245 plus. Yet Hotwire is listing a 4* hotel, in Lihue for $109 a night, all in. Lihue is not where I need to be, but at half the price, perhaps I am gonna just have to drive each day.

I am new to all of this, especially the vacation rental concept. Does anyone have any advice on how to land a reasonable, clean place to stay in Poipu that isn't $245 a night?

HELP!

Healy, Alaska
Destination Expert
for Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
41,927 posts
44 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: To Hotwire or not?

It is just you - or a family? Would a studio condo work? I have used hotwire lots, but not in Kauai. But you can do a search on a few sites before you take what hotwire offers. It sounds like most of your time would be spent with family rather than in your lodgings, which to me really helps narrow the field because then all you need is a clean place to lay your head, right?

Here are a few sites I like to use to find places on Kauai:

www.kauaivacationresorts.com/south1.html

vrbo.com/vacation-rentals/… With vrbo, you can plug in your dates, and it will show what has availability - I just looked for the month of April and there were some under $100 a night, but I don't know what size of a place you are looking at. Give it a try - you might find just what you are looking for. Good luck! :)

California
Level Contributor
9,807 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: To Hotwire or not?