We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hanalei Bay Villas or Sealodge

San Diego...
Level Contributor
91 posts
51 reviews
Save Topic
Hanalei Bay Villas or Sealodge

I'd be interested in any feedback on the relative and comparative merits of the two; not too interested in paying over $200 a day, so I don't believe there is an issue with either. We'll be visiting from May 22-29, 2014.

Princeville, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7,307 posts
37 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Hanalei Bay Villas or Sealodge

The condos at Sealodge with the good ocean views would be my pick. I have no experience with the villas, which would have more distant ocean views.

Tucson, Arizona
Destination Expert
for Tucson
Level Contributor
3,513 posts
103 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Hanalei Bay Villas or Sealodge

We have actually stayed at both. Sealodge definitely has the best ocean views, although the lower numbered units at HBV do have a nice view of Hanalei Bay. Also, if it's an issue there are no grills at HBV, although admittedly the charcoal grill area at Sealodge is nothing great, but we did use it many nights and it was adequate. HBV does not have a pool, either, if that matters, but the Sealodge pool is VERY basic and we never used it.

On the positive side HBV units are much larger and you are right across the street from the path down to Hideaways Beach.

That time of year, both are in a great location as a base to explore the north shore beaches. Just make sure to read reviews on the individual units at each complex as they will vary greatly. At Sealodge the B and F buildings won't have as good of ocean views as the other buildings.

middletown,ohio
Level Contributor
638 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Hanalei Bay Villas or Sealodge

We loved staying at Sealodge which condo are yo looking at ?

California