We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horseback Riding

Which Kihei hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
936 posts
Save Topic
Horseback Riding

Hi, we are going to Maui in October and was wondering if anyone had taken a horseback tour. My husband can ride and I am a real beginner so we wouldn't want to hard of a trail. Has anyone got any suggestions as to which ranch or tour would be best and was it a good tour and worth the money? Hope to hear some reviews.

Alberta Travelbug

wis
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
256 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Horseback Riding

Hello Alberta

I have ridden at both Makena Stables (South Maui) and Mendes Ranch. In fact, this time next week I will be at Mendes (can't wait). Both rides are different. I LOVE Mendes, though. Many reasons. It is a working cattle ranch, and the guides are true Hawaiian cowboys. They are very good at making sure you get the horse that fits you. It is one of the few places (because it is their own property) that you can canter in two places. However, if you just want to trot, that is fine too. But the best part is the scenery. They take you to a waterfall and to the sea cliffs, both with beautiful Kodak moments. It is truly breathtaking. I am the rider, my husband has now become an intermediate rider (due to the fact I drag him on these adventures. He much rather be riding a golf cart). I can't say enough about their operation and the ride itself.