We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

cheapest groceries in maui

co
Level Contributor
13 posts
8 reviews
Save Topic
cheapest groceries in maui

Everyone has been so helpful so far but now I need to know where the cheapest place to buy some basics like coffee, creamer, cereal, juice, milk etc. would be. does the walmart there sell food? or is there a cheaper place

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3,717 posts
87 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: cheapest groceries in maui

Hi 6gunkitty,

I am no expert, but the cheapest place I found to buy milk was the Wal-Mart in Kahului. It is NOT a Superstore w/full grocery, but does have a good assortment of food items, like the ones you names. We went to Costco for a lot of our goods, as we were staying in condos for 12 days. Groceries are quite a bit more than at home, but hey, it is a 5 hr. flight from the west coast, so anything they don't produce there has to be higher! You will save a lot of money just by eating in when you can.

Have fun!!!

Eugene, OR, USA
Level Contributor
195 posts
60 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: cheapest groceries in maui

That response made me wonder, what are some smart local groceries to plan on buying, and where? As you said, anything that has to be flown in is going to be spendy, but not everything is flown in. We love fresh fruit and veggies.

Reedsport, Oregon
Level Contributor
3,981 posts
37 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: cheapest groceries in maui

Most of the items mention in the original post could be found at WalMart and probably your cheapest location.