We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

What is GREAT about staying in Ko Olina?

Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 posts
Save Topic
What is GREAT about staying in Ko Olina?

My boyfriend and I have been vacationing in Hawaii in February for about the last 10 years, our first love is the Big Island, but we have also fallen in love with Maui, Kauai, and Lanai.

Unfortunately, due to finances, we thought we were going to have to give up traveling to Hawaii for several years. We didn't travel in 2013; but we realized we have enough Disney Vacation Club points (and frequent flier miles) to stay at Aulani for 10-14 days. We do have to do some finger crossing and hope they have availability when we are allowed to book. It's just the two of us traveling.

While I'm pretty excited about staying in Aulani; most posts I've read about Ko Olina seem to start with suggesting staying in another area.

We will have a car and driving around isn't a problem; heck, we've done day trips from Waikoloa to Hilo and/or the Volcano more than once.

I am hoping we can make this thread about the positive things about staying in the area, not to just help me, but to help others who are researching in the future.

Thanks in advance for the positive feedback!

Corona del Mar, CA
Destination Expert
for San Diego, Orange County, California
Level Contributor
52,622 posts
422 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: What is GREAT about staying in Ko Olina?

What is great about Ko'Olina is its isolation from the more crowded parts of Honolulu. The pools at Aulani are great and I love the resort.

Yes, you have more limited dining options, and it is a harder base to see the typical tourist sites from, but overall it is still a nice area, just not where most people would recommend for most first time visitors to Oahu.

South Coast NSW