We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gourmet advice needed on lobster

Which San Francisco hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
322 posts
16 reviews
Save Topic
Gourmet advice needed on lobster

Pals...this is my first time with lobster and want to remember it with a smile in my face...

Where to go for great lobster?? San Francisco or on my way to Glen Ellen, Sonoma?

Pls, advice soon... I am leaving on the 17th of April!

best! Andy

Oakland, California
Destination Expert
for Yosemite National Park
Level Contributor
6,323 posts
25 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Gourmet advice needed on lobster

Well, I'll be honest with you- this ISN'T the place for great lobster. We're famous for Dungeness crab, so I'd recommend you try some of that instead. The east coast of the US is where the great fresh lobster is found.

Santa Cruz...
Destination Expert
for Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
31,587 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Gourmet advice needed on lobster

Yes, since lobster has to be flown in the the East Coast it is also very expensive.

Go for the Dungeness crab, as suggested. This is a San Francisco specialty.

San Francisco...
Level Contributor
973 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Gourmet advice needed on lobster

Yeah, Andy... wrong coast. Our lobster's out here are either flown in from the East Coast, or you'll get a spiny lobster (a warm water lobster) probably from Mexico or flown in. Spiny lobster can be good, but it doesn't have the huge claws that an East Coast (Maine) lobster.

So not many places around here have good East Coast style lobster. If you do find a place that has live ones flown in they'll be over $40.