We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

June Gloom?

Which San Francisco hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Washington DC...
Level Contributor
205 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
June Gloom?

Wife and I leave for Cali tomorrow. I'm a photographer and this will be my first visit. So I'm very excited to photograph the coast! I'm taking all my equipment with me. And then today a coworker told me I was going at the worst time of year because of something called "May Gray" and "June Gloom"

:(

Will I not be getting spectacular photos (particularly sunset photos)??? Will everything be grey and foggy? :(

San Francisco...
Destination Expert
for San Francisco
Level Contributor
49,355 posts
149 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: June Gloom?

Summer is foggy at times in SF and one does get clouds along the coast. Does that happen every hour or every day ? No it does happen but at times one can get lucky. That helps keep Sf cool and with no humidity

Limerick...
Level Contributor
1,484 posts
90 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: June Gloom?

Here is a link for photos taken 5/23 and previous.

Here is link for May Gray 7 June gloom http://meteora.ucsd.edu/cap/gloom.html

Limerick...
Level Contributor
1,484 posts
90 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: June Gloom?

Here is a link for sunrise & sunset times nation wide

www.sunrisesunset.com/usa/California.asp

Good items to carry circular polarizer & split nd filter

San Francisco
Level Contributor
36,629 posts
27 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: June Gloom?

"May Gray" and "June Gloom" are more Southern California phenonmena.

San Francisco gets fog when the interior valley gets hot, drawing the cold air over the Pacific towards the hot inlad air. Right now (7AM PDT) it is bright and clear blue sky. It was a gorgeous sunrise. Yesterday was the same. It was foggy last week.