We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Several questions about SF and Marin travel??

Which San Francisco hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
ATLANTA
Level Contributor
836 posts
136 reviews
Save Topic
Several questions about SF and Marin travel??

I'm coming Sept 13 and will be there for that afternoon and the 14th and part of the 15th before heading north along the coast and I have a few questions. I will have a rental car and will probably stay somewhere near the Golden Gate Park. I am an amateur photographer and this is one of my main interests in going.

Thanks for helping me with these questions:

1. I want to go to Point Bonita for late afternoon photos of the GG bridge and I can go on Thursday or Friday afternoon. How crowded is it getting across the GG Bridge and what times should I avoid? Will it be crowded coming back into SF? I ask because I live in Atlanta and traffic is horrible here.

2. I'll go to the Fishermans Wharf area and take the ferry to Alcatraz. Is BART a safe way to travel?

3. I wanted to ride the cable car. What is (are) the best route(s)?

Thanks,

Kent

San Francisco
Level Contributor
36,629 posts
27 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Several questions about SF and Marin travel??

1. Point Bonita is only open Sa, Sn, Mn from 12:30-3:30: http://www.nps.gov/goga/pobo.htm/index.htm

Coming back across the Golden Gate bridge between 3:30-4:30 shouldn't be a big problem. There will probably be only two lanes southbound as commute traffic will be heading northbound so it may be a tad sluggish but nothing horrible.

2. If you are staying near GG Park there is no BART line nearby. I would catch either the N-Judah or 5-Fulton to Market St. and pick up the F-Market & Wharves which will let you off very near Pier 33. Leave plenty of time for the trip however.