We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chinese/Lunar New Year/Tet 2014

Which San Francisco hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Santa Clara...
Level Contributor
17,720 posts
26 reviews
Save Topic
Chinese/Lunar New Year/Tet 2014

This Friday Jan 31 is the beginning of the new year, Year of the Horse.

The children of SF Unified have the day off (the only one in the US I think). This was implemented after I graduated HS but many kids took the day off anyway when I was coming up.

The marquee event the parade is not until Sat Feb 15, though the flower street fair was last weekend.

http://www.chineseparade.com

Many families like mine will spend the weekend visiting families. I will be all over SF and the East Bay. But visitors no doubt will see lots of CNY activities in Chinatown with firecrackers and lion dancers.

Here in San Jose, the big Tét festival will occur this weekend at the fairgrounds. I work nearby and have heard the lion dancers and drummers practice all last week and today after work.

http://tetvietnamsj.com/general/pid/161

(I know not in the Bay Area, but in case visitors are going to Vegas as well... check out the Bellagio conservatory and Wynn/ Encore for CNY festivities the next month)

Oh and there is some big football game this Sunday too. ; )

Gung hay fat choy and chúc mừng năm mới everyone. May the new year bring good health and prosperity to you and your loved ones.

Edited: 28 January 2014, 06:39
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
18,821 posts
43 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Chinese/Lunar New Year/Tet 2014