We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Where to park in Boston, so I can take the subway , and more

Which Boston hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 posts
29 reviews
Save Topic
Where to park in Boston, so I can take the subway , and more

Hi,

I am new to Boston and am travelling from Canada. I have everything planned out but need to get a couple of problems cleared out.

1. How is the toll from Buffalo from Boston, when taking the I-90. I will be driving a van. I did some research and some vague sources say $20-$25. Is this right? slightly more? or slightly less? I am really tight for cash.

2. I heard it is a nightmare to drive in Boston. Where is a good place to park so I can take the subway and which station should i get off at so see Harvard University, Museum of Natural Science, Sam Adams Brewery and others. The motel I am staying is in Lexingston MA, I doubt there is a station that far out.

3. How much is the parking at one of the Boston T parking lots. Where is the best place to park again.

Boston
Level Contributor
6,251 posts
36 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Where to park in Boston, so I can take the subway , and more

You can drive down Route 2 to Alewife station. It is not far at all from Lexington. Park there (about $7) and take the Red Line. Ask an attendant for a Charlie Card and load value on it from a machine. It will only cost you $1.70 per subway ride. If you buy a paper Charlie Ticket it costs $2. If you are going to be here for a while the $15 weekly pass is a great value. You get unlimited rides on subway and buses and Zone 1 of commuter rail.

Get off at Harvard Square for Harvard and the museum.