We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Public transport for 60

Which Boston hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Panama City Beach...
6 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Public transport for 60

Hello, I'm a teacher from Florida and will be bringing 35 5th graders and their parents to Boston for 4 days next April. We are thinking about using public transportation in order to keep trip costs down. I realize that the group will be split most of the time when traveling. Other than that, do you think it's a realistic idea? Any other advice? We plan to stay at the Marriott on the harbor near the aquarium.

Boston
Level Contributor
6,343 posts
38 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Public transport for 60

Your hotel is in a good location. You can probably get to a lot of what you want to do by walking. Boston is compact and it's easy to get around. Children under 12 ride for free when accompanied by an adult, so I would think most of your kids will ride for free. You could have your kids study subway maps well before they go. This should be fun and heighten their anticipation for the trip.

I don't know what the alternative transportation option would be. Renting a bus? You will be traveling short distances downtown and a bus would seem like overkill. Plus, parking will be a problem.

Boston, MA
Destination Expert
for Cape Cod, Massachusetts, Martha's Vineyard
Level Contributor
6,050 posts
158 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Public transport for 60