We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

nyc for the first time with a family with two teenage boys

STOKE-ON-TRENT
Level Contributor
29 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
nyc for the first time with a family with two teenage boys

please can anyone recommend must-sees for a first time visit to nyc? also can anyone recommend any family friendly restaurants/delis/diners near to central station? thanx.

brooklyn, ny
9 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: nyc for the first time with a family with two teenage boys

Hi loowe,

I have one almost teenage boy who lives here in NYC, but is not himself an inquisitive visitor. Making helpful suggestions for you depends what your boys like to do, what interests them and where you are coming from. But, I am a NYC teacher and a mom, and here's my list of must sees:

Museums: The animal dioramas at the American Museum of Natural History (I use them with my classes all of the time), The Metropolitan Museum of Art (you only pay what YOU want to donate-the $20 is just a suggestion), The Museum of Modern Art, and the Guggenheim (always fun.)

Sights and places: The New York Botanical Gardens (okay, but I prefer Brooklyn), The Brooklyn Botanic Garden, The Brooklyn Promenade (for a stunning view of Manhattan), The Empire State Building (expensive-worth the view and wait?) and a visit to the Statue of Liberty (the ferry is the best part!)

Favorite parks: Central Park, Prospect Park, and Battery Park (close to Statue of Liberty Ferry).

Other areas: You might enjoy Chinatown, the South Street Seaport (although this is essentially a mall) and the village. If your kids want to kick or hit a ball around, try some of the ball fields in Riverside Park or the Parade Grounds in Brooklyn.