We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Recommendation and any other useful info :)

Gold Coast...
Level Contributor
92 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Hotel Recommendation and any other useful info :)

Hi all,

I will be in NYC on the 26th & 27th of December and then again between the 31st of December and the 10th of January.

Looking for some hotel recommendations in the city. I am a photographer so looking for somewhere pretty central in a good funky, cafe area with good transport options to get around easy. I am initially thinking Soho, The Village or Chelsea?

Also looking for any NYE advice. Obviously thinking about Times Square but will it be a bit crazy if I am on my own?

Any other advice, suggestions it useless info much appreciated!

Cheers,

Andrew

Likely To Sell Out
Viator VIP: EmptyMet Tour at The...
133 reviews
from US$175.00*
Special Offer
New York City Big Apple Helicopter...
1,099 reviews
from US$199.00*
US$214.00
New York in One Day Guided...
970 reviews
from US$83.99*
Empire State Building Tickets...
2,373 reviews
from US$36.00*
New York City, New...
Destination Expert
for New York City
Level Contributor
100,367 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Hotel Recommendation and any other useful info :)

Budget will dictate your options. The 31st is a pricey night for hotels. There are very few hotels in the village.

wshotel.com

is the only affordable option and is in a great location but the place itself is basic. There are b & b's that are really like apartments.

west-eleventh.com

is charming and

greenwichvillagehome.com

is more affordable.

cosmohotel.com

in Tribeca is popular. The Hampton Inn Seaport, Soho or Chelsea are all good. The Seaport, while less central has a bit of charm to it. The Chelsea Pines is a nice inn.