We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

I saw Spider-Man last night!

Level Contributor
408 posts
7 reviews
Save Topic
I saw Spider-Man last night!

We took our 14 year old son to see Spider-Man last night. I'm not an expert by any means but here's my opinion:

Overall, it was entertaining. We knew what to expect (being a preview show) so I was happy we only had one stop during the 1st act and a rather long intermission. It was a solid 30 minutes. The visual effects were great. The flying was unique and some of the set design was really spectacular. Costumes were good, not great. The first act was definitely stronger than the second. I felt like it went downhill after intermission.

The four kids narrating the story added nothing but time...I felt like there were holes in the storyy and had I not seen the movie or had my son explain to me the story of Athena and Arachne that he read in school, I would have been confused. The story seemed like it was in 2 parts. The first act dealt with the Green Goblin storyline and the second jumped to Arachne. It didn't seem like there was any correlation between the two.

The music got a bit dreary towards the end and the story of the relationship between Peter & MJ was so superficial. I didn't care for Arachne either. In fact, the whole plot seemed too light. The acting / singing was adequate at best. Had they done away with the 4 kids and extra villians (who go no where) and really concentrated on the Spiderman / Green Goblin stroy I think it would have been better.

Granted I had high expectations knowing what Julie had done with the Lion King. I think the Lion King was far superior to Spider-Man across the board.