We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

first time in new york - need help please

Level Contributor
768 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
first time in new york - need help please

My husband has just told me we are going to New York for my 30th birthday in February, It was going to be a surprise but he knows how much I LOVE organising holidays! This is my first time on this forum (I'm used to the Vegas one!) and I'm a bit lost. Can someone please help me figure out the "best" place to stay for a first-timer? I know that we cant be close to everywhere.

We would like to do usual touristy things - shopping, central park, statue of liberty, empire state building, shows... We are used to staying in nice hotels but know that for our budget, we probably won't get much luxury! Our dates are 16th - 23rd of February and would like to keep the hotel budget to €1000 or $1300 for the week, preferably less though!

Any help much appreciated. Thank you!

Chelsea Market
Flea & Street Markets
Grand Central Market
Points of Interest & Landmarks, Flea & Street Markets
London, United...
Destination Expert
for Wakefield
Level Contributor
6,176 posts
43 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: first time in new york - need help please

$160 a night before tax should be doable in Feb. I know one hotel in Brooklyn doing $89, but personally wouldn't recommend it for a first timer, so don't worry too much about the budget you've got.

Check out TravelZoo as some bargain rates are aviailable now for Feb, I think the four points soho has got some bargain rates on

Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
7,999 posts
18 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: first time in new york - need help please

FIrst of all, welcome to the NY Forum.