We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

5th time in NYC - recommend me something "new/different"

Bratislava
Level Contributor
28 posts
Save Topic
5th time in NYC - recommend me something "new/different"

I'm going to spend a full week in NYC beginning this Saturday and it's my fifth time in that city (my favorite city in the whole world! :P)

As I'm taking 4 other friends with me, who have never been there before (one of them haven't even been to America!), I will have to do all the mandatory stuff first (ToTR, ESB, SOL, major museums, central park...).

Still, I want to do something completely different for at least a day or two. Like, I don't know, seeing a funny performance in a small, independent theater somewhere? Going to a cool jazz/rock club?(I'm a semi-professional drummer) Taking pictures of hipsters in brooklyn? Visiting jewish orthodox neighborhoods? Seeing a crazy gay bar?(I'm straight) What would you, experienced New Yorkers recommend me to see/try?

NY
Level Contributor
796 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 5th time in NYC - recommend me something "new/different"

- go walk on hte boardwalk in coney island

New York, NY
Level Contributor
612 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: 5th time in NYC - recommend me something "new/different"

For the type of stuff you're looking for, you might want to look at Time Out NY (online) or the Village Voice (also online). They both have listings for stuff that you might not otherwise find (but be sure to confirm date/time/price for each of them).

Bratislava
Level Contributor
28 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: 5th time in NYC - recommend me something "new/different"

Done that already. Spent almost a full day in coney island.

Bratislava
Level Contributor
28 posts
Save Reply
4. Re: 5th time in NYC - recommend me something "new/different"