We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First timers in NYC

Clermont, Florida
1 post
Save Topic
First timers in NYC

Hey there.

I'm new to TripAdvisor and even forums for that matter. But I'm planning my honeymoon and decided New York would be good. We have friends that live there and we both love broadway shows. But most of all, because it would be cheaper than going to Europe and I'd like to have some money left over in savings when starting a marriage.

Unfortunately, I have very little knowledge about what to do while in New York. I just recently read online about the New York Pass. I thought it sounded like a pretty sweet deal. A lot of what the pass covers are things we wanted to do. But are there any little known attractions or restaurants around NYC that we should check out?

What else is there to do other than the "typical" touristy things?

About how much money should we carry?

Would cash be better than a debit/credit card?

Does anyone know of some nice hotels at a fair price? Perhaps near Broadway?

Anyone know of ways to get discounted tickets for Broadway shows?

We will be going for 5 or 6 days next April.

Any input is greatly appreciated!

Real New York Tours
City Tours, Cultural Tours, Walking Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Free Tours by Foot
Sightseeing Tours, Walking Tours, Food Tours, Bike Tours, Night Tours
SANDEMANs NEW Europe - New York
City Tours, Historical & Heritage Tours, Walking Tours, Sightseeing Tours, Private Tours
CityRover Walks NY
Sightseeing Tours, Walking Tours, City Tours, Private Tours
Maryland
Destination Expert
for Las Vegas, Washington DC, County Donegal, Western Ireland
Level Contributor
53,605 posts
47 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: First timers in NYC

Well, you've come to the right place!