We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Domestic flight

Sweden
Level Contributor
40 posts
15 reviews
Save Topic
Domestic flight

Hi!

I was just wondering how far in advance you need to be at the airport for a domestic flight with just carry on luggage?

Millbrook, Alabama
Destination Expert
for Birmingham
Level Contributor
1,714 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Domestic flight

Most airlines state two hours before for domestic flights. If I have never used an airport before, I will allow the two hours. When I feel comfortable with how they are laid out and how busy they are, I may lessen that. For example, this past Monday was my first flight from SNA (John Wayne Airport in Orange County, CA), so I was there two hours early with just carry on. Turns out, I could have gotten there an hour before and not had to wait in the airport so long, but I didn't know that.

With that said, I would plan to be there two hours before. If you are late and miss your flight through fault of your own, you will have to buy another ticket. I would rather be safe and sit there than miss the flight and lose money.

Brooklyn, NY
Destination Expert
for New York City
Level Contributor
23,394 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Domestic flight

I will often arrive just an hour in advance if I've checked in online, but that's if I'm not arriving at a particularly busy time. If you don't know whether it's a busy time, then allow at least an hour and a half, preferably two hours. Worst case is you get a sandwich and a magazine while you wait.

New York City, New...
Destination Expert
for New York City
Level Contributor
95,462 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Domestic flight

It depends on the airport and the airline.

Maryland
Destination Expert
for Las Vegas, Washington DC, County Donegal, Western Ireland
Level Contributor