We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Car Rental Conundrum

Michigan
Level Contributor
63 posts
123 reviews
Save Topic
Car Rental Conundrum

Hello,

I've tried checking for previous posts on this subject, but nothing exactly matched my questions, so here I am.

My family (my husband, two daughters, and I) are driving to New York in a rental car, will stay four nights, and then be leaving by rental car.

I don't want to pay for a car for those four nights PLUS pay for parking it! So we'd like to drop the car off somewhere then get one again for the trip back. Basically two one-way rentals with a few days in between.

Has anyone done this? Or knows the best way to do this? I don't mind using public transit to get or drop of the car.

Any advice appreciated, as I've never used a rental car this way before.Thanks!

PS- Staying near the ESB, if that helps

Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
1,478 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Car Rental Conundrum

You really need to price this out. You could end up paying two one way drop off fees which could make your plan terribly expensive. Also keep in mind that one week rentals are much cheaper than a few days, particularly during the week. It may actually be more economical to just keep the car, although you need to factor in the cost of parking as well.

New York
Destination Expert
for Moscow
Level Contributor
3,612 posts
37 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Car Rental Conundrum

You don't own a car in Michigan?

Brooklyn, NY
Destination Expert
for New York City
Level Contributor
23,632 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Car Rental Conundrum

Where are you coming from in the rental? Where are you going to? Why do you need a rental at all? And I agree that it will likely be cheaper to keep the car than do two one way rentals, but it depends on the answers to the first questions.