We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First time in New york for one week

Level Contributor
31 posts
1 review
Save Topic
First time in New york for one week

Hi, I will be visiting New York for a week at the end of November this year. My gf has been a few times before and is looking forward to lots of shopping, but it is my first time and i want to try and fit in as many sights as possible too. Below is a rough itinerary, i was wondering if anyone in the know would be able to give me advice or suggestions on how to best fit in as much as possible

Day 1

Arrive in the afternoon. Get checked into the hotel and straight out to do some shopping on 5th avenue

Tiffanys/Century21/Bloomingdales/Macy's

Day 2

Woodbury common

Greenwich village- if we have time

Maybe visit a comedy club

Day 3

Philadelphia day trip - really want to go see the rocky steps and statue, what else is there to do in philadelphia

Back in time for a broadway show

Day 4

Sightseeing tour - leaves at 10am for 5.5 hours (on board tours)

Times Square visitor centre

Madison sq gdns

Day 5

Chrysler building/grand central terminal/ new York public library/ Bryant park

Rockefeller centre

China town and little Italy

Manhattan skyline/Irish hunger memorial - vesey st/ St. Paul's chapel/ ground zero(9/11 memorial)

Day 6

Empire State Building( go at 8am)

Wall Street

George washington Bridge

Brooklyn bridge

Fit in some shopping

Day 7

Central Park

Staten Island ferry

Day 8

Black Friday

Get up early for few hours shopping

Leaving fri evening

I havent figured out exactly on which days we are going to do each thing yet, but we will be there over thanksgiving so i am thinking we should do the activities for day 7 then, as im presuming all shops will be closed... but will everyone else be at central park then too?..