We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Airbnb or hotel for 12 day-stay in NYC?

Buenos Aires...
Level Contributor
22 posts
Save Topic
Airbnb or hotel for 12 day-stay in NYC?

Hello everyone. I'm a student traveling the US and my last trip will be to New York for 12 days in mid March (16th til the 28th).

Am I screwed because I'm asking so close to the actual travel date? (I see people asking 6 months prior to travelling and it scares me).

I am a student so I'm kind on a budget (70ish per night). I don't think I will find any hotels for that price and I have been thinking that a private room through Airbnb might be the best idea.

I'm not too picky to be honest. I've slept in really bad hostels but I've always had something special for this city so I want my stay to be as pleasant as possible within my budget.

What are your recommendations? Do you have any suggestions? Pretty much the only thing I know must be critical is proximity to a subway line (specially if it's outside Manhattan).

Any help would be appreciated :)

Edited: 21 February 2014, 05:31
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6,319 posts
18 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Airbnb or hotel for 12 day-stay in NYC?

Almost all apartment rentals for less than 30 days in NYC are illegal. (In the past, they have also presented issues of scams, health and safety, misdescription of property, financial problems and eviction. More recently, they are the subject of subpoenas in active litigation involving airbn brought by state/city authorities.) In contrast hotels that have unit features, which resemble apartments, are lawful.

tripadvisor.com/Travel-g60763-c147344/New-Yo… ,

Edited: 21 February 2014, 09:31
Buenos Aires...
Level Contributor
22 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Airbnb or hotel for 12 day-stay in NYC?