We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stay in Manhattan or Secaucus

1 post
Save Topic
Stay in Manhattan or Secaucus

Hi,

I have a some mariott points and i can either affort 2 nights in manhattan ( 0.7 miles from times-square ) or 2-3 nights in Secausus and save a lot on points , similar styled hotel.

We are 4 adults and 1 infant. I am going to drive from Atlanta to NYC.

I need opinion on following ( it is my first time to NYC or anywhere near to it ).

1. Shall i just stay one night in Manhattan just for experiencing and easy access of time square at night ?

2. Stay all the time in Manhattan - i do owe 55 USD parking fee per day to hotel in case i stay in manhattan

3. Stay in Secaucus , if i stay in secausus how easy is it to get into city for sightseeing ? we have a infant ( 9 months old ) so will have to cary stroller and other stuff.

Would i make sense to drive from secausus into manhanttan and park somwhere roadside in nearby area ? or take a ferry/train transport ?

What will offer me good convenience, still enjoy the city and not be expensive as well,

USA
Level Contributor
11,430 posts
30 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Stay in Manhattan or Secaucus

Stay in Manhattan. Secaucus is not convenient at all, especially with the baby.

Post your dates and budget, the hotel experts might be able to help with other options.

Whitestone, New York
Level Contributor
791 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Stay in Manhattan or Secaucus

Your public transportation option from Secaucus is a bus, which will not be handy with a stroller.

Can you use your points at the Fairfield Inn Queensboro Bridge (and NOT the Fairfield Inn Manahttan View) in Long Island City in Queens? That at least will put you in the city, and close to a subway station, with midtown Manhattan just minutes away.

Melbourne, Australia