We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Death Valley in December, camping tips.

Sunnyvale...
Level Contributor
20 posts
Save Topic
Death Valley in December, camping tips.

Hi forum,

I am planning a 2 day trip to Death Valley in December. I will be driving from San Diego on a Friday afternoon and plan to spend 2 full days (Saturday and Sunday) in the valley and drive back to San Diego on Monday.

Can you advise me if 2 days are enough? I am not a big hiker. I am a photographer and I am planning my trip there for Photo ops.

This is the list I had in mind for two full days of photo ops:

Zabriskie Point

• Dante's View

• Badwater

• Furnace Creek

• Artist's Palette

• Rhyolite Ghost Town

• Salt Creek Oasis

• Giant Sand Dunes

Is that list realistic in 2 days?

Also, I am planning to reserve a tent site at Furnace Creek campground. Will it be too cold at night? What kind of tent do you suggest? I have a tent but I know it is not suitable for winters.

Thanks!

Camp Sherman, Oregon
Level Contributor
1,210 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Death Valley in December, camping tips.

motiver,

Yes, two days will be fine for what you want to do. With the Giant Sand Dunes, are you talking about the very tall Eureka Dunes in the north or the normal Mesquite Dunes? Eureka Dunes really are an all day trip to be combined with other areas up north(Ubehebe Crater, great photos from the bottom) but are amazing.

I like Dante's View and then Zabriskie Point at very early sunrise as the sun is at your back and luminates the hills and mountains to the west. Also Salt Creek after that too.

Devils Golfcourse and Badwater mid day, with Artist's Palete and Golden Canyon afternoon for colors.