We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Santa Maria - Las Vegas - 2 nights via Death Valley

Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
674 posts
113 reviews
Save Topic
Santa Maria - Las Vegas - 2 nights via Death Valley

Hello there, my colleague and my boss have asked for my help, as I love travelling and have visited DV etc before, hence to them I am an expert?!

They have meetings in LA, are staying Friday night in Santa Maria, CA then fly back to the UK from Vegas, on Monday evening, in August. They are keen photographers and I recommended Death Valley as an awesome, intriguing place, so they are going.

Have as always found cracking advice on here already. Cut and pasted loads of it, but just checking in with the experts.

What would you recommend for them - it is difficult as people have different travelling styles I know.

How about -

SATURDAY, leave Santa Maria, drive to and stay Lone Pine. (we work for a movie company, so I think they would like Lone Pine).This should be about 5-6 hours driving? Possibly stop and enjoy Red Rock Canyon State Park.

SUNDAY - Leave Lone Pine, visit Mosaic Canyon, Scotty's Castle, Sand Dunes, Devils Cornfield, Devil’s Golf Course, Natural Bridge, Badwater Basin, Artist’s Drive, and Golden Canyon.

Back to Furnace Creek, stay the night - poss head to Zabriskie Point in the evening for stargazing. No idea on their stamina!

MONDAY - Zabriskie if not seen, Twenty Mule Canyon, Dantes View, then Death Valley Junction, head via Pahrump to Las Vegas.... and home.

Sometimes I am a little ambitious, and me and my husband are quite full on, and see as much as you can. Is this too much, or reasonable? Have I missed anything which they must see in your opinions? Any clangers on the routes?

Any suggestions gratefully received!! Many thanks

Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor