We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best route from north AL?

Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Best route from north AL?

Hi everyone! I've been reading these forums for about a month now, but this is my first time posting.

My husband & I and another couple will be in Gatlinburg from April 17th - April 21st (RIBFEST!!). I've heard about this rod run thing in Pigeon Forge and that traffic will be very heavy there. What is the best route to take to avoid the P.F. traffic?

We are coming from Huntsville, AL through Chattanooga on I-75. Our first plan was to take Hwy 66 from I-40 and go through Sevierville and Pigeon Forge, but now I'm getting worried about traffic. Is it worth it to go past Knoxville on I-40 and continue to 321 through Cosby? Oh, I forgot to add that we are staying at Gatlinburg Falls Resort in Gatlinburg.

Thanks for your advice - I'm so glad to have found this forum!

Mentioned in this post
Gatlinburg
Gatlinburg
Sevier County, TN
Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge
Sevier County, TN
Chattanooga
Chattanooga
Tennessee
Sevierville
Sevierville
Sevier County, TN
Knoxville
Knoxville
Tennessee
Gatlinburg Falls Resort
Gatlinburg Falls Resort
2,765 Reviews
Gatlinburg, TN
Chickamauga, Georgia
Destination Expert
for Orlando, Walt Disney World
Level Contributor
42,635 posts
93 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Best route from north AL?

O.K. here's the route we always take from Chattanooga.

Head up I-75 north to exit #81 (Lenoir City).

Make a right onto Hwy 321 at the top of the exit ramp.

Continue along Hwy 321 through Lenoir City, across the Ft. Loudon dam, through Maryville, and into Townsend.