We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How to get the vacation cabin rental of your dreams...

Cosby, TN
Level Contributor
17 posts
Save Topic
How to get the vacation cabin rental of your dreams...

Even though I am new to TA, I wanted to share my thoughts and opinions on how to get that perfect cabin rental. I work in the cabin rental business in Gatlinburg and I would like to share what (imo) is the best way to get what you want.

While I love the fact that you can search and buy most anything you could want on the web, sometimes the only way to get what you need is to contact the business by phone or even email, if the phone isn't an option. Most of the folks in this area that do rentals require their employees to visit the cabins and get to know them.

So, the person taking your reservation is the best expert you have access to. Make a list of the amenities you want and start with the Chamber of Commerce in the town you want to stay in. You can also use the Better Business Bereau in Knoxville (they do Greater E. TN, too) to see if there's any really bad companies to stay away from.

Example of items for your amenity list:

- # of Beds/Baths (take into account the "Sleeps" number may be including sleeper sofas/futons, etc. If this isn't an option, be sure to say so. )

- Location, Location, Location! - Do you want to be close to town? Away from it all? On a Creek? Be sure to ask how far to the trolley and how busy the street is.

- Views: Mountain, Creekside, Wooded and private. With Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge bursting at the seams with cabins and even private homes, alot of the "very private" cabins and chalets are out a little further from town than most people realize. Ask how many miles, but keep in mind, they may be mountain miles and you may end up in traffic.