We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

My NOLA pre-Super Bowl volunteer week TR 1/17 - 1/26

Los Angeles...
Level Contributor
569 posts
70 reviews
Save Topic
My NOLA pre-Super Bowl volunteer week TR 1/17 - 1/26

I have never written a trip report before but I set aside one week annually to rebuild homes in New Orleans so that homeowners can either move back to their homes or continue to live in their homes as they get older. I felt compelled to come help rebuild in New Orleans because it is a unique city whose residents have treated me warmly before Hurricane Katrina and the Bush administration did so little to help in its aftermath. I've done 12 trips to work on 23 homes and for the last few years, have met some friends from the Maryland area to work with Rebuilding Together New Orleans on some great projects during Mardi Gras season.

I always come a few days before the work week to explore on my own and have stayed at HH Whitney House the last few years. Located in a quiet neighborhood on Esplanade, this B & B is a perfect hideaway and many guests I've met there are return customers. I feel that Glen, one of the co-owners, always takes good care of me when I stay there. HH Whitney always provides yummy breakfasts and Community Coffee in a beautiful historic home. Coming early gave me a chance to eat Italian Creole at Adolfo's with friends on Thursday night. We thoroughly enjoyed the Cannelloni combo with Spinach & Cheese and Crabmeat & Corn burrito-size cannellonis, Veal with Ocean Sauce, and Tilapia with Ocean Sauce. Ocean sauce is two delicious sauces that you can also have individually: crabmeat & capers and shrimp & crawfish. We then walked across the street to catch Jon Cleary on solo piano at dba. I saw him play last year there as well and he provided another great night of music.